College of Medicine Rockford MBT Students Earn Awards

The University of Illinois College of Medicine Rockford announces the winners of several awards presented to 2017 graduates of the Master of Science in Medical Microbiology Program.

Research Innovation Award Winner

Dr. Ramaswamy Kalyanasundaram presents the Research Innovation Award to Ghata Nandi.

The Research Innovation Award for an outstanding graduate for research innovation was given to Ghata Nandi for her research entitled “Modelling Hereditary Spastic Paraplegia (Type 5) Using Human Induced Pluripotent Stem Cells.” Nandi was mentored by Jun-Xue Li, Ph.D., associate professor in the Department of Biomedical Sciences at the University of Illinois College of Medicine Rockford.

Academic Excellence Awards for outstanding graduates for academic distinction determined by cumulative grade point average were given to the following students: Shawn Kiesling, Akshaya Ramachandran, Renuka Sabnis, Subhasree Sridhar, Pooja Vinay and Sneha Menon.

Shawn Kiesling Academic Excellence Award 2017

Dr. Ramaswamy presents Shawn Kiesling with an Academic Excellence Award.

Akshaya Ramachandran

Dr. Ramaswamy presents and Academic Excellence Award to Akshaya Ramachandran.


Renuka Sabnis

Renuka Sabnis received an Academic Excellence Award.














Subhasree Sridhar

Subhasree Sridhar received a 2017 Academic Excellence Award and an Outstanding Research Award.

Outstanding Research Awards are given to outstanding graduates for research excellence determined by evaluating the quality of the research work, the written research report, the oral presentation, and the graduate’s approach to the entire process. Recipients were:

Subhasree Sridhar for her research entitled “Regulation of Enzalutamide-Resistant Prostate Cancer Progression by TGF-Beta Signaling Pathway” under the mentorship of  Jindan Yu, M.D., Ph.D., associate professor of medicine at Northwestern University, Evanston, Ill.;

Pooja Vinay

Pooja Vinay received a 2017 Academic Excellence Award and an Outstanding Research Award.

and Pooja Vinay for her research entitled “Investigating the Role of Pentraxin PTX3 in Basal- like Breast Carcinomas” under the mentorship of  Antoine E. Karnoub, Ph.D., at the Cancer Research Institute of Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Mass.


Supreeti Tallapragadda

Dr. Brian Webb, platform manager at Thermo Fisher Scientific in Rockford, presents Supreeti Tallapragadda with the Thermo Fisher Scientific Overall Achievement Award.

The Thermo Fisher Scientific Overall Achievement Award given to an outstanding student for overall achievement in academic distinction, research excellence and leadership qualities was given to Supreeti Tallapragadda. Her research project was “Role of Omental Macrophages in Early Colonization of Ovarian Cancer to the Omentum” and she was mentored by Oliver Dorigo, M.D., Ph.D., associate professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Stanford University, Palo Alto, Calif.