Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Distinguished Service Award presented to Dr. David Deutsch

Dr. Deutsch

David Deutsch, MD, is the 2024 recipient of the University of Illinois College of Medicine Rockford’s (UICOMR) Distinguished Service Award. This award is presented each year to a nominee who demonstrates outstanding organization and leadership qualities in committee service, administration, health care and medical education at UICOMR, the university level and/or nationally.

Dr. Deutsch, a professor of clinical pediatrics and chair of the Department of Pediatrics,has shown exceptional dedication to clinical care, teaching, scholarship, leadership and service, which earned him the Distinguished Service Award. He received the award at the UICOMR Convocation Ceremony on Friday, April 26, 2024.

Dr. Deutsch is a UICOMR graduate who completed residency at Columbus Children’s Hospital in Ohio and a pediatric gastroenterology fellowship at the University of Michigan before joining the UICOMR faculty in 1998.

As an educator, Dr. Deutsch has made significant contributions to medical education in Rockford. His mentorship and teaching have positively impacted countless students, residents and fellows through the years. He has also played a key role in developing and continuing child abuse evaluation and treatment services for the northern Illinois region through the Medical Evaluation Response Initiative Team (MERIT).

As Chair of the Department of Pediatrics, a position he’s held since 2005, Dr. Deutsch provides leadership in pediatric teaching at our campus, helping to develop an outstanding core clerkship and solid senior-year clinical electives.

He’s been the recipient of several teaching awards and has a demonstrated track record of publications and presentations in the field of pediatric gastroenterology. He is a respected clinician who has also served in leadership roles at MercyHealth and UW Health.

He serves on the Board of Directors of Rosecrance Health Network and has been active in the Winnebago County Medical Society.

Read more about the convocation ceremony and the Class of 2024 award winners.