Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Dr. Kathleen Kelly Receives Distinguished Service Award


Kathleen Kelly, MD

The University of Illinois College of Medicine Rockford presented its 2021 Distinguished Service Award to Kathleen Kelly, MD, assistant dean for graduate medical education since 2017 and a clinical assistant professor in the Department of Medicine and Medical Specialties since 1994.

The Distinguished Service Award is presented each year to a nominee who demonstrates outstanding organization and leadership qualities in committee service, administration, health care and medical education at the college, university or national level.

Dr. Kelly has administrative oversight over UICOMR’s educational programs offered to medical school graduates, including the Rockford Family Medicine Residency Program, the Dixon Rural Training Track and the Monroe Clinic Rural Family Medicine Residency Program. She also oversees the UICOMR Hospice and Palliative Medicine Fellowship Program.

“Dr. Kelly has demonstrated both her commitment and dedication to graduate medical education at the College of Medicine Rockford and has gone above and beyond her role in assistance and involvement in all aspects of GME, from work on formal evaluations within the residency programs, to teaching of the residents, to fostering and preparing faculty development seminars,” said her nominators. “She has also undertaken administrative tasks outside of the realm of her role in order to assist the programs during a year of significant change and multiple external stressors.”

Dr. Kelly also serves UICOMR with thoughtful and collaborative involvement as the chair of the Committee on GME and is a member of the Rockford Executive Committee, Scholarship Committee, James Scholar Committee, the Continuing Medical Education Committee and employment search committee.

In addition to her contributions to UICOMR, Dr. Kelly is also active in the Rockford community, currently serving on the SwedishAmerican Health System Board, Rock River YMCA Board of Directors and other community initiatives. She received the Spirit of Caring Award from Crusader Community Health in 2015, the Community Leader Impact Award from the Rockford Regional Health Council in 2017, and the Humanitarian Award from both Illinois State Medical Society Alliance and Winnebago County Medical Society Alliance in 2017.