Family and Community Medicine

The Department of Family and Community Medicine is a distinguished and innovative department leading the field by integrating education, clinical care, community service and research. As a locally, nationally and internationally recognized department, our mission incorporates the following four components:

  • Effective and innovative educational programs including Family Medicine Clerkship for M3 and M4 years and the Family Medicine Residency Program in Rockford affiliated with SwedishAmerican: A Division of UW Health, the Dixon Rural Training Track affiliated with KSB Hospital in Dixon, Illinois, and the Monroe Clinic Rural Family Medicine Program in Monroe, Wisconsin.
  • Diverse faculty including board-certified family physicians, PhDs, PharmDs, nurse practitioners and behavioralists.
  • High-quality patient care that embraces the broad spectrum of family medicine at our L.P. Johnson Family Health Center.
  • Modeling of an ethic of community service that includes care for a variety of underserved populations. Care is provided at three different local health departments, several substance abuse treatment facilities, the Winnebago County Jail and a number of nursing homes.
  • Developing and disseminating new knowledge to enhance the primary health care of individuals and their families through research, including peer-reviewed publications and presentations at national meetings.

Family Medicine Clerkship

Rockford Family  Medicine Residency Program

Dixon Rural Training Track

Monroe Clinic Rural Family Medicine Residency Program



Department of Family and Community Medicine
Phone: (815) 395-5805